Frances’s Fanny and MP Films

BurneyHatted
Frances Burney by Edward Francesco Burney (c. 1784-85)

Dear friends and readers,

I’ve put up the first new documents onto my website since my husband died, two to be precise:

Frances’s Fanny: a proposal for the Burney society AGM which will occur just before the JASNA, and at Montreal too, one I developed when I was writing a review of Volume 5 of the Early Journals and Letters of Fanny Burney, 1782-83, ed. Lars Troide, Stewart Cooke: Frances’s Fanny where I propose to develop my idea that Frances performed a character in an on-going novel first for the benefit of herself, Susan Burney Phillips, and her second father, Mr Crisp; and as these deeply congenial interlocutors were taken by death, for herself, her husband, her other sisters, friends and father. She rewrote and added to it over the years, and after the publication by her great-great niece of her diaries and journals (6 volumes, 1842) set up as a multiple volume novel, the character she partly invented so endeared herself to her audience, she came to be identified with as the chief characters of Burney’s novels, especially Evelina;

Mansfield Park at the Movies: the rejected proposal I’ve talked too much about: what the four MP film adaptations have to tell us about Austen’s novel and one another.

1983FannysFirstSight
Fanny Price’s first sight of the building as she rides up in a carriage next to Mrs Norris (1983 Mansfield Park, scripted Ken Taylor)

Totally by myself in a new configuration it took me a mere 2 hours. I hope to be quicker about this sort of thing next time.

Ellen

Author: ellenandjim

Ellen Moody holds a Ph.D in British Literature and taught in American senior colleges for more than 40 years. Since 2013 she has been teaching older retired people at two Oscher Institutes of Lifelong Learning, one attached to American University (Washington, DC) and other to George Mason University (in Fairfax, Va). She is also a literary scholar with specialties in 18th century literature, translation, early modern and women's studies, film, nineteenth and 20th century literature and of course Trollope. For Trollope she wrote a book on her experiences of reading Trollope on the Internet with others, some more academic style essays, two on film adaptations, the most recent on Trollope's depiction of settler colonialism: "On Inventing a New Country." Here is her website: http://www.jimandellen.org/ellen/ No part of this blog may be reproduced without express permission from the author/blog owner. Linking, on the other hand, is highly encouraged!

3 thoughts on “Frances’s Fanny and MP Films”

  1. Well done , Ellen. I know this sort of thing was taken care of by Jim and doesn’t always come easy to you. I was interested in the proposal. It sounds fascinating. If you do present it, I am sure it will go well.

    Clare

    1. I was pleased with myself that I was able to put them on the site. I don’t mean to put much on the site, really the sort of short piece these represent, but now I know I can. I hope I get to present a paper on this topic. In the meantime the review from which it comes may be published in the next Burney Letter. Thank you for your good strong kind words. Ellen

  2. That’s good to know, getting it published is a bonus. Every time you have a success, do something new, it will increase your self-confidence, at least that is what I found.

    Clare

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.