“Hardly any women at all:” Jane Austen’s inclusions of women in her History of England


Katherine Parr, Henry VIII’s sixth wife (for the origin and my first adumbration of this perspective: What she said about Tudor queens)

I read history a little as a duty, but it tells me nothing that does not vex or weary me. The quarrels of popes and kings, with wars or pestilences, in every page; the men all so good for nothing, and hardly any women at all … Catherine Morland, Northanger Abbey, I:14)

Friends and readers,

After all, for my first 2020 blog I have an innovative perspective on Jane Austen’s Juvenilia to share. For the coming JASNA to be held in St Louis, Missouri, in which the topic is to be Jane Austen’s Juvenilia, I sent in a proposal where I said I would demonstrate that in her The History of England, Jane Austen meant to burlesque the norms shaping the way “history, real solemn history” was written in her era, and to include and to defend not just infamous women, but forgotten and underappreciated ones. Her text goes beyond vindicating Mary Queen of Scots, and the Stuart kings and the English house of York, well beyond parodying Oliver Goldsmith’s popular history. She is a partisan defender of women, and places them in her text at every opportunity given, and ostentatiously refuses to make numinous figures out of powerful men.

This is a development from that proposal.


Mary Queen of Scots, contemporary portrait by Federico Zuccai or Alsonso Sanchez Coello


From 2018 Mary Queen of Scots (directed by Rosie Rourke); we see Ismael Cruz Cordova, Maria Dragus, Izuka Hoyle, and Saoirse Ronan as Mary and her ladies and David Rizzo: the most recent image

The effect of Austen’s attitude, tone, details, parody and insistent bringing in of women is to go beyond Tudor and Stuart history as it is usually found in books published in the 18th century: say Robertson’s and Hume’s histories of the Tudor and Stuart period, and what is found in Catherine Macaulay’s Whiggish history. I was going to quote from these works to show the way they are male-dominated, with a perspective that is top down and (ultimately) Big Man history even if the culture and social and economic life of the country is not ignored. This is a little book which should be included in the history of history writing by women.

The startling thing is how Austen surprises even the alert reader by how much she knows about obscurer women and men, and must herself have read in an alienated way, against the grain of her courses to get beyond common bogus distortions. The only cited date is a letter between Anne Boleyn and King Henry: that’s easy, it comes from Goldsmith. But one concise sentence referring to Katherine Parr, Henry VIII’s sixth wife, is packed with suggestion: “The King’s last wife contrived to survive him, but with difficulty effected it” (Austen, Juvenilia, Cambridge ed P. Sabor, 181-82). Parr did not just passively luckily outlive the king; she had to actively thwart his attempt to arrest her when her intelligent writing and political and religious views threatened (as Anne Boleyn had done) to go beyond what he meant to do by taking over the Church of England. Yet where can she have learned that Parr actively rescued herself — she is not included in Shakespeare or the better known plays about Perkin Warbeck (by John Ford).


Portrait of Anne Boleyn (1507-London, 1536), Queen of England. Painting by unknown artist, oil on panel, ca 1533-1536


From 2003 The Other Boleyn Girl scripted by Philippa Lowthorpe: Jared Harris and Jodha May as Henry VIII and Anne Boleyn

There is an excellent book on Katherine Parr’s life, reading, writing, intelligence by Linda Porter: Katherine the Queen, which I would have used. Also other good biographies of Renaissance women, of which there are many. Yes it’s true that Austen could not have time-traveled and read this book; rather she has to have read with alertness all the comments, assertions and counter-assertions on Tudor women in the romances and various histories of the era. In her letters in her later years she writes of reading history aloud with Fanny and Cassandra; she would have read the kinds of sources that went into Sophia Lee’s The Recess and later Walter Scott’s The Abbot and Monastery. Austen makes fun of the historical informative impulse in Scott after the publication of Pride and Prejudice, but in this earlier work we see she went for the same kind of material we find referred to offhand by Charlotte Smith and Anne Radcliffe (in her 1794 A Journey Made in the Summer [Germany into Italy was planned). Radcliffe has read astonishingly in the annals of the places she visits. Scott did not write out of a vacuum. It interests me how avid a reader Austen was of Scott, obtaining each volume as it came out (including, she was in time for, The Antiquarian)


Early depiction of Elizabeth Tudor (I) attributed to William Scrots


Glenda Jackson as the young Elizabeth, just come to the throne (1971 BBC serial drama)

A second context for her depiction of women in this young woman’s parodic didactic text will be her letters where she explains why she takes the adamant tone she does when defending a woman. In a letter to Martha Lloyd she remains fiercely on the side of “Poor Woman,” Queen Caroline of Brunswick “because she is a woman & because I hate her husband. She admits Caroline’s flaws but resolves nevertheless “to think that she would have been respectable if the Prince had behaved only tolerably by her at first … “

— I suppose all the World is sitting in Judgement upon the Princess of Wales’s Letter,” Poor Woman, I shall support her as long as I can, because she is a Woman, & because I hate her Husband — but I can hardly forgive her for calling herself “attached & affectionate” to a Man whom she must detest — & the intimacy said to subsist between her & Lady Oxford is bad. — I do not know what to do about it; — but if I must give up the Princess, I am resolved at least always to think that she would have been respectable, if the Prince had behaved only tolerably by her at first. —-(Austen’s Letters, ed LeFaye, 4th edition, 16 February 1813, 216-17).

I will argue the attitude of mind here, is one which pays attention to the original perpetrator of abuse, notices how harassment which claims love as its motive is a form of torment that inflicts misery on even unsympathetic women (Elizabeth I, 185-86). I counted no less than 18 women (Catherine, French wife of Henry V; Margaret of Anjou, wife of Henry VI; Joan of Arc; Edward IV’s bethrothed, Bona of Savoy [referred to, not named) and wife, Elizabeth Woodville, his mistress Jane Shore; Richard III’s wife, Anne (whom she denies was murdered by her husband); Henry VII’s wife, Elizabeth of York, his daughter Margaret who married the Scottish James V; five of Henry VIII’s six wives, Catherine of Aragon, Anne Boleyn, Catherine Howard, Katherine Parr [not named referred to as “the king’s last wife”], Lady Jane Grey, Mary Tudor, Elizabeth I, Mary Queen of Scot, Anne of Denmark). Some are not named and our narrator frets then that she does not know the woman’s name.

Hers is a history with plenty of women in it. I intended to go over and use the marginalia to Austen’s copy of Goldsmith’s History of England, and the copious notes found in the Cambridge Juvenilia volume edited by Peter Sabor. Austen’s History of England is an exuberant but also richly intertextual work.


From excellent forgotten 1970 Shadow of the Tower (first episode by Rosemary Anne Sisson): James Maxwell as Henry VII and Norma West as Elizabeth of York (also a poet)

I would have used Thomas Penn’s The Winter King: Henry VII and the Dawn of Tudor England; here is a YouTube, 15 minutes of an hour long lecture by Penn on the “most notorious invader of England” (he whole available on Amazon Prime) because he had so little right to the throne: Henry Owen Tudor

Finally I proposed to have some fun showing how Austen’s extraordinarily alert iconoclastic stances (as when she treats historical characters in the same way she does fictional ones by showing how she anticipates some of the more interesting film history and adaptations of our own era. I was going to bring in my laptop and show clips from older and recent film history and adaptations of novels set in the Renaissance era.

But my proposal was rejected and so now I’ll not do any of this. What a shame! It is speculation, not evidence. Meant to stir the mind to see Austen in another light as well as her era. Also to be feminist. I could have read part of Elizabeth of York’s (1465-1503) “sestina,” one of the earliest poems in English by a woman (see one of my earliest foremother poet essays):

I pray to Venus

My heart is set upon a lusty pin;
I pray to Venus of good continuance,
For I rejoice the case that I am in,
Deliver’d from sorrow, annex’d to pleasance,
Of all comfort having abundance;
This joy and I, I trust, shall never twin –
My heart is set upon a lusty pin

I pray to Venus of good continuance,
Since she has set me in the way of ease;
My hearty service with my attendance
So to continue it ever I may please;
Thus voiding from all penseful diease,
Now stand I whole far from all grievance –
I pray to Venus of good continuance,

For I rejoice the case that I am in,
My gladness is such that giveth me no pain,
And so to sorrow never shall I blynne,
My heart and I so set ’tis certain
We shall never slake, but ever new begin
For I rejoice the case that I am in,

Deliver’d from sorrow, annex’d to pleasance,
That all my joy I set as aught of right,
To please as after my simple suffisance
To me the goodliest, most beauteous in sight;
A very lantern to all other light,
Most to my comfort on her remembrance–
Deliver’d from sorrow, annex’d to pleasance,

Of all comfort having abundance;
As when I think that goodlihead
Of that most feminine and meek countenance
Very mirror and star of womanhead;
Whose right good fame so large abroad doth spread,
Full glad for me to have recognisance –
Of all comfort having abundance.

This joy and I, I trust, shall never twin –
so that I am so far forth in the trace,
My joys be double where others are but thin,
For I am stably set in such a place
Where beauty ‘creaseth and ever willeth grace,
Which is full famous and born of noble kin–
This joy and I, I trust, shall never twin.

Note the puns.

The JASNA members would have loved this paper. I got the usual hypocrisy over how there were so many applicants and how they had to turn away so many excellent proposals for papers of merit. Papers are also chosen by who is giving the paper and what kinds of people the organizers want, who they are connected to, how they relate to Austen. My hunch is they hardly looked at it. If you tell me it is too learned, I will laugh at you. Much of it a stretch. And meant to be fun. But yes grounded in the era and Austen’s texts and those she liked to read.

Why do I not write it up and send it to Persuasions? the two organizers asked. Ah yes.  Right.  As they well know, because Persuasions prefers papers given at the conference. As my daughter, Izzy, said to me last year when we did not make some final cut to join 800+ at the JASNA in Williamsburg (even though we were quite early in registering online), what do we pay this yearly fee for? She belongs to two organizations, one professional, American Library and another which professes to be a combination of personal interest (fans) and scholars; in both cases your money guarantees you a space at the AGM. I suggested it was the periodical and newsletter.

Ellen

Author: ellenandjim

Ellen Moody holds a Ph.D in British Literature and taught in American senior colleges for more than 40 years. Since 2013 she has been teaching older retired people at two Oscher Institutes of Lifelong Learning, one attached to American University (Washington, DC) and other to George Mason University (in Fairfax, Va). She is also a literary scholar with specialties in 18th century literature, translation, early modern and women's studies, film, nineteenth and 20th century literature and of course Trollope. For Trollope she wrote a book on her experiences of reading Trollope on the Internet with others, some more academic style essays, two on film adaptations, the most recent on Trollope's depiction of settler colonialism: "On Inventing a New Country." Here is her website: http://www.jimandellen.org/ellen/ No part of this blog may be reproduced without express permission from the author/blog owner. Linking, on the other hand, is highly encouraged!

9 thoughts on ““Hardly any women at all:” Jane Austen’s inclusions of women in her History of England”

  1. A great deal of cherry-picking depending on who you are also goes on in deciding who will be left out when 800+ people are let in. Star scholars, connected people to the fans, heritage industry people, those running tours, heads of regional groups, the list of who gets in is long. In another year this happened and we were something like 5 minutes after 12, and Izzy had taken time off her job and was so disappointed I complained bitterly. Well, we were let in. This past year I was told by people let in after rejection that they had complained. I am just not going to in effect beg to be allowed in every year. The conference is one of the most expensive I have gone to; they seem deliberately to choose the most expensive luxury hotel they can, and each trip, and each “special session” (those given beyond the 4 hours given over to 9 papers concurrently and two key lectures) paid for separately too. Tickets for everything, including special coterie groups (those part of JASNA for some many years have this tea).

    So I have told Izzy we will not be going to St Louis, Missouri. The way for people like us to get in is to have a proposal accepted. It helps personally no one in any of these choosing committees to maintain their place in this or any organization or recognized groups they may belong to, to include us.

  2. From the essay: Elizabeth Plantagene aka Elizabeth of York, then Tudor (1466-1503)

    I first came across Elizabeth of York’s “irregular sestina” at night
    in a small old anthology of women poets: The Distaff Muse edited
    and compiled by Clifford Bax and Meum Stewart. It was there it was
    called “a irregular sestina” and described as follows:

    The sestina as an elaborate form invened by the troubador Arnaut Daniel
    (twelth century) who was praised by Dante. The reader will notice that the
    last six lines of the first stanza in the poem successively form the first
    lines of the stanzas which follow. ‘Twin’ means break apart or separate into
    two. ‘A lusty pin’ means a strong peg or a stable foundation. Not many poets
    have declared ‘My joys be double where others are but thin …’

    While it might resemblance a sestina because some of the words
    repeat, it’s actually to rhyme royal. Rhyme royal was a much favored
    form of the 15th century (Chaucer’s Troilus and Criseyde is rhyme
    royal). Rhyme royal has 7 line stanzas which rhyme ababbcc.

    Eldest child to Edward IV and Elizabeth Woodville, she was courted by
    Richard III, and then married to his enemy, Henry VII (Tudor); from
    the time of her marriage, her history is a series of pregnancies and
    then death. This is from the ODNB:

    “Five children survived infancy: Arthur (1486-1502), Margaret (b. 29
    November 1489), Henry (b. 28 June 1491), Mary (1496-1533)
    and Edmund (b. 21-2 February 1499). Several other children died
    in infancy, including Elizabeth (b. 2 July 1492) and Katherine
    (her last child). But by the time of the queen’s own death only
    Margaret, Mary, and Henry were still alive. Arthur had died on 2
    April 1502, and the news reached the court at Greenwich in the early
    hours of Tuesday 4 April.

    As to her literary pursuits, this is what the same article by
    Rosemary Horrox says:

    “Elizabeth played a full role in courtly pursuits. In her
    more bookish pursuits she is again closely associated with her
    mother-in-law [Margaret Beaufort]. Both women sponsored Caxton’s
    printing of The Fifteen Oes in 1491, and a few years later they
    jointly gave a copy of Wynkyn de Worde’s printing of Walter Hilton’s
    Scala perfectionis to Elizabeth’s lady-in-waiting Margery Roos. But
    if, in the sphere of literary devotion, Elizabeth can be seen as
    Margaret’s protege, in other areas she took a more independent line.
    She rewarded the court composers William Cornish and Robert Fayrfax
    for a Christmas carol and an anthem of Our Lady and St Elizabeth
    respectively. Secular court revels were a large part of her life as
    well, with frequent references in her accounts to minstrels and disguisings.
    Hunting features less often, but she kept a pack of greyhounds
    (presumably for coursing small game rather than as elegant pets)
    and a goshawk. Less predictably, she had a hand in the
    design of Henry’s new building at Greenwich, where in 1502 Robert
    Vertue was working from a plan devised by the queen.”

    The oblique style, indirect stance, language — these remind me of
    the famous Thomas Wyatt (“They flee from me that sometime did me seek
    … “) Elizabeth connects the troubadour poets with the early
    Renaissance. In The Distaff Muse, the editors tell us that More
    wrote an elegy about her at her death.

    Elizabeth’s irregular sestina presents the woman’s point of view: I’ve
    wondered if she rejoices because she’s not pregnant or didn’t die in the
    last pregnancy

    Gentle reader, if you get this far you have spared yourself a trip to a JASNA; if like me it is unlikely you’d make the cut or you don’t have the money, I think I have given a concise account of what I would have said. I suppose I should find a cheaper and less exclusionary group to take this too. Any suggestions?

  3. I say “after all” because I had intended to start with a blog on a woman artist or 18th century actress. I am still working on a blog essay about Adelaide Labille-Guiard and another about Susannah Arne Cibber. To do good accurate ones takes time …. For both I have a good book and some good scholarly articles and reviews.

  4. Laura Kennelly: “I’ve always thought it amusing that Goldsmith’s readable history takes great hunks of Humes’ history with little if any change (as I showed in an ancient article).

    Me: Could you cite it? I have Norma Clarke’s biography of Goldsmith sitting on a pile of TBR for so long; I don’t know that she goes into this aspect of Goldsmith. she’s a very enjoyable and perceptive writer. Older articles are often far more readable than recent ones. I do love this area of study: Tudor matter I like to call it — after all these years. I originally was a Renaissance scholar.

    Laura: “Tory History Incognito: Hume’s History of England and Goldsmith’s … by LB Kennelly · 1992 Aug 2, 2014 · Tory History Incognito: Hume’s History of England and Goldsmith’s History of England . Studies on Voltaire and the 18th Century.”

    Me: Thank you. I can probably find it on the Mason database. I partly teach to have access.

    Laura: “That’s the cut & paste ( it was pub in 1992)”

    Me: Not only history writing, but historical fiction and romance and historical films are among my avid interests still.

  5. Kathryn Temple: “I love these posts, Ellen. Inspiring!”

    Me: Thank you. I am keeping myself cheerful and sane — using routines towards controlled study and writing to give some sort of shape and satisfaction to my days & nights.

    Kathryn: “Very important but also you write beautifully so it is a gift to the world.”

    Me: I write to reach people: I read with them because it is something I can do and enjoy. The Internet (with all its faults) has thus been a blessing in my life.

    Kathryn: “Same here.”

  6. Hi, Ellen. This is (as usual) a very interesting post. I would like to take issue with one comment: “Persuasions prefers papers given at the conference.” This is not true. We are very happy to receive submissions that are unrelated to the conference. The Miscellany is a very significant and enlivening part of the journal–both in print and online.

  7. I’ll mention here that yesterday I got a posting telling me the JASNA AGM Cleveland hotel can be registered at. I asked Izzy if she got hers, and she said she has now cancelled her membership at JASNA. What is the point of paying people and enduring this rejection and thwarted hope each year? She did the right thing. I keep my membership for the journal but realize I am at the same time funding this organization and regret that.

  8. Ellen, your blogs are terrific–I love them. Jim Gill

    Me: Thank you, Jim. Since I’m now cut out of JASNA (with my daughter having canceled her membership, for me to go would be a betrayal of her), I am planning to develop this into a paper for an 18th century conference with Austen on the program.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.